BLOG?

About being obsessed on South Park (&Co) projects? SAD!

A madman's ramblings
(aka: I'm going to take a lot of time to write something I could I have wrote in way less).

I'm not even going to re read this stuff any soon as I'm going to publish it.

me when I'm having the big think
mfw I'm having the Big Think

Projecting on Snow Day Since the First Trailer Came Out

Wrote on 2023/08/14

Preamble: I hate videogames, I don't know shit and I'm full of bitching.

I'm going to list everything obvious and my own theories about it so I can reread it one day and be like "haha no way".
Also, I always lose links and stuff so I'm going to copy-paste stuff here.

South Park: Snow Day!

Matt Stone announced, or rather "mentioned", for the first time (I think), a 3D South Park game was in the works [article] when the show had its 25th anniversary (2021), along with other in works projects I never heard of again, beside Casa Bonita still happening right now and the deepfake movie being cancelled [article] because Trump is not funny anymore.

"We’ve been rich for a long time. We have nice houses and cars. Even this giant deal won’t change my day-to-day... We're a media company. We use the proceeds from this to invest. These are multi-year projects we invested a bunch of money in. We have a ‘South Park’ 3D video game, release date unknown. We’re doing deep fakes. We have a studio with a dozen people who are deep fake artists. We’re working on a little more of this deep fake movie we’re trying to piece together. We have a horror movie. A musical. I think we’re really for the first time going to bring Tegridy Weed into real life. We are gunning for this restaurant that’s just been abused in Colorado. It’s Trey’s dream to revamp Casa Bonita."
Matt Stone

I don't recall when it was said, or leaked or RUMORED, it was going to be multiplayer and with the working title of "Snow Day" [article].
Last year's THQ Nordic Showcase had a short teaser about the game [YouTube], with Randy shitting himself or something, but they at least confirmed who was working on it.

Now one year later, and two days ago, the game reveal trailer came out during another THQ Nordic Showcase I didn't watch and I barely read the summary of. I don't really care for any THQ game (the only game I tried is Darksider TWO for WII U and I dropped it, mind you) so I didn't even know it was going to happen.

What's important to know is: it's going to come out in 2024 and it's for PC (and Playstation Five? and Xbox X | S? What?? I shouldn't be mean to consoles after mentioning I own a Wii U but I'm so out of this world, I always forget what they are on, especially Microsoft).

New kids

My first thought is that it looks like shit.

Cashgrab free-to-play garbage with cosmetics.

I hope it's not other gacha shit like Phone Destroyer, but I suppose there will be some sort of chest you can get for collecting those cosmetics.

There is only Cartman talking in the trailer, but so far it looks okay. The cutout animation on 3D models kind of reminds me of that holiday window thing they did in 2016 [YouTube], which is cute. The shadows and environment look like ugly Unity "realistic" graphics Nintendo fan developers would love, but I can't tell if it's somewhat intentional, since it seems like they tried hard to make it look ugly and generic. With how many retro-looking FPS games going around lately, maybe it would have been cool if they went with a low-poly style like those old 3D games they made zillions of years ago.
It would have been really cool if they tried to redo the artstyle they used in the 3D opening, but it doesn't seem like they wanted to spend too much money on this.
But whatever, I don't really care about graphics since I own Nintendo consoles, I just hope it's going to look a bit brighter than this, but that's probably because they still didn't finish making the game, and they can't show anything solid.

The title went from the working title of "Snow Day" to "Snow Day!", which is pretty funny.

But nothing of this really matters to me, as what I'm mostly concerned about is that I can't still tell what the GAMEPLAY is gonna be.

What I know and I've been knowing for two years is that it's going to be co-op, a thing I hate in a game, but it's South Park, so here I am.

From what I saw here, my first thought was that it was going to be an RTS but it would be too good to be true and also it's a up to 4 players co-op game, so those guys moving around in the trailer can't be your "troops".
I suppose the one with the yellow circle are your character and teammates (all New Kids).
So I thought that oh shit it's gonna be a fucking MOBA with cosmetics and those are lanes and the preschool little kids are "minions" oh jesus, but they would have called it a PVP if that was the case so I hope NOT.
So all the little guys and others not yellow circled guys are enemies.
So my final guessese are it's some fantasy action rpg? Some Diablo-like game maybe? More like Diablo Immortal if it's really going to be free-to-play trash...
Now, I did try Diablo Immortal one time on PC out of feeling silly with a friend that likes to try every free shit on day one. I knew I would have hated it before playing, I hated it while playing and I hate it now BUT, even if i don't recall much, I think it would be the best case scenario for this South Park isometric multiplayer game. Unless it's in third person, in that case I think it looks like some bootleg Splatoon. Maybe.

Whatever it is, it's some TV cartoon game and it's even MULTIPLAYER, I can't possibly expect something GOOD out of it.

But as I had these thoughts in the spawn of those 10 seconds of game footage, I didn't take in consideration the first development studio shown in the trailer. THQ it's just the publisher then?

I had to Google-check first because I wasn't even sure of it, but I remember >Question was the one who developed The Blackout Club [Steam]. I know it being announced only because it was on the South Park website. Matt and Trey are executive producers and financed the production, so it was advertised there too.

I never considered playing it because:

  1. I don't like role-playing
  2. I saw stealth and I don't like that either
  3. The only multiplayer co-op game I can play is Left 4 Dead
  4. Because of point 3, I have the bad habit of comparing anything to Left 4 Dead, and I'm tragically too lazy to try anything different

In my Google search, I found out they made another game, The Magic Circle [Steam], which instead looks very cool, the kind of shit I like and I'm going to download the demo right now.

I see from these two games is that they are both first person games.
What does it means? Nothing.

But it makes me think, I straight up assumed the game was going to have an isometric view or at least in third person, but those shots are far from actual gamplay and this game could potentially and totally be in first person.
I hope it's not because:

  1. I don't like first-person games

So maybe it's going to be a Left 4 Dead clone without ZOMBIE HORDERS? Hahah.

Okay, I played a bit of The Magic Circle demo, and it's cute. How can I hate any game made by small developers about developing a game?
It makes me a kind of hopeful for the upcoming South Park game because I'm so romantic for this stuff. Small devs trying to be creative... So cute... (I'm easily charmed).

Anyway even if I'm not going to like it, I will always appreciate in some way whatever thing about South Park they will pull out because I enjoy reading any lore related anything, as I liked to read conversations from Phone Destroyer screenshots.

And lastly: Jimbo's store in the background [crowd cheering]